Pain of the Day

Pain of the Day

Most adults experience body pains that come and go. When present, pain is a distraction and may alter our plans for the duration of that pain.

This week, my ankle hurts. Last week, it was my shoulder that hurt. If the past is any indication, in a few more days a new pain will likely present itself in a different part of my body.

Pain has many sources. Medical conditions and old or recent injuries top the list. Some of these sources can be treated with a prescription drug, joint replacement or therapy. Some simply require the passage of time before mysteriously leaving us. Finally, sometimes the pain never leaves and must be adapted to as part of our daily lives.

Pain presents us to make an important decision. Do we find ourselves always telling others about our pains? (I do that sometimes.) If we make our pains the starting point for conversations with our friends, some of them may seek to avoid us in the future. They likely have pains of their own.

Pain is unkind. Those who suffer constant pain know that it cannot be denied.  Neither should it be allowed to become the singular focus of our daily lives. The truth is somewhere in the middle between denial and obsession.

 

About authorbillramsey

During his forty year professional career, Bill Ramsey wrote magazine articles and business newsletters. Now retired in the mountains of western North Carolina, he writes a blog and has published four books. His 2015 collection of concise, real life essays is titled "What DO You Think?" "Me Now - Who Next? (The Inspiring Story of a Traumatic Brain Injury Recovery)" and "Now That I Think About It" are his other books and are available from Amazon.com and on all e-readers. See www.authorbillramsey.com .
This entry was posted in billramseyblog.wordpress.com, Family, friends, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pain of the Day

  1. Painfully true. Today, it’s my left calf that is bothering me. On Thursday, it was my left groin. We need to begin thinking of pain as our friend. After all, it reminds us that we are still very much alive! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes pain helps us to recall the past. For example, my right ankle has been painful off and on since 1968 when I tore the ligaments playing catch football with my neighbor, Tom. When my ankle hurts I think of him and his errant pass that my youthful pride had me determined to catch.I can still see his concerned look.

    Like

Leave a Reply

