How Long Does It Take to Write a Book?

How Long Does It Take to Write a Book?

Like other writers, I am often asked how long it took me to write my book. With “What Do YOU Think?”, my second book of concise essays,  the full and complete answer could be that it took me a lifetime. Experiences, literally beginning in childhood, have shaped how and what I think. That has to be true of all of us, whether a writer or not.

The actual writing time in hours is unimportant but would total about a year of some daily contemplation, writing and rewriting. Reading the finished product held this pleasant surprise for me. In my seventy-three years, I can still see both sides of many issues. I found this discovery to be refreshing. Old and opinionated is not a good place to be. Life lived that way can become lonely.

Those who enjoy thinking about the issues of real life may enjoy the stimulation provided by these essays. I also included are some essays with lighter-side observations and a few laughs. Politics were not included as that subject is so over-done, dull and depressing. Readers have sent their wide-ranging thoughts concerning essay subjects to me. Some agree, disagree or offer a different way to view the same subject. That exchange of thinking has been a rich reward for me. Please, visit my website at www.authorbillramsey.com and click on the books tab to see how easy it is to order any of my books. I do appreciate your consideration. Contact me through the website to offer your thoughts.

About authorbillramsey

During his forty year professional career, Bill Ramsey wrote magazine articles and business newsletters. Now retired in the mountains of western North Carolina, he writes a blog and has published four books. His 2015 collection of concise, real life essays is titled "What DO You Think?" "Me Now - Who Next? (The Inspiring Story of a Traumatic Brain Injury Recovery)" and "Now That I Think About It" are his other books and are available from Amazon.com and on all e-readers. See www.authorbillramsey.com .
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Life and death, Reviews, Thoughts on Writing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Long Does It Take to Write a Book?

  1. Bill, I particularly like what you have to say about being old and opinionated being a recipe for a lonely life – to a point! I believe it’s important that we trust SOME of the opinions we have formed – especially if we are confident that we have formed them ONLY after having considered all sides of the issue, over a lifetime of self-examination. Without some form of conviction, we are like a ship without a rudder, bobbing on the ocean without direction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

